Barangay Rizal lies at the geographical heart of the poblacion. In it, the Municipal Government Center; St. Mark the Evangelist Parish Churc, Cabugao Cultural and Sports Complex, Municipal Police Station, Municipal Fire Station and Northern Ilocos Sur Trade Center are located. The main office of the multi-branched Rural Bank of Cabugao, Inc. is also located here. Sometime in the year 1959, Republic Act 3519 was approved into law dividing the Poblacion in four barrios; Barangay Rizal was one of them.

Barangay Rizal got its name from the foremost national hero, Jose Rizal. A monument of Dr. Rizal and a park in honor of him were constructed in the late 1920’s at the place where the Digitel Office now stands.

Barangay Rizal has three village clusters: Cacanturisan, Centro and Bessang. Bessang is the village south of the national highway while Cacanturisan is located south of the Centro where the Cacantores (Church Singers) lived.

Thaddeus U. Soller
Punong Barangay
Gabriel G. Sunio
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Marina G. Acosta
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Julius S. Morales
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Ernesto R. Cobangbang
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Kristian Francis N. Fernandez
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Benigno S. Piros
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Victorino S. Sonido
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Rodrigo T. Abad
Barangay Secretary
Lutgarda N. Galamgam
Barangay Treasurer